User information
 Loading ...
Show article in Knowledge Base

 What are the different states a SLA target can have in the SLA tab on issues? (Achieved, Cancelled, et.c.) Export knowledge base Export     SubscribeSubscribe      Show article info

All SLA Targets that are active (or have been active) on an issue are visible on the SLA tab on an issue.


SLA Targets can be in a number of different states:


  • If a SLA Target is running and active you will see it as "In progress".
  • If you change attributes on an issue so that the SLA Target criterias doesn't apply anymore the SLA Target will be set to "Cancelled".
    • On the SLA Target, it may have additional criterias set, so that some of these issue fields are used, and the SLA Target is only valid for a subset of their values (statuess/types/priorities/etc):
      • Status
      • Issue type
      • Priority
      • Severity
      • Urgency
      • Product
    • If you change any of these fields on the issue so that it no longer matches these criteria, the SLA Target will be cancelled.
    • For example, if the status 'Put on hold' is not in the list of statuses in your SLA Target criteria, then setting the issue to 'Put on hold' will set that SLA Target to Cancelled as it is no longer valid. (Other SLA Targets with other criterias will not be affected.)
  • If a SLA Target is fulfilled before its breach triggers (achieved/breach when), the SLA Target will become "Achieved"
    • Examples: The issue is completed before the breach date, or it is set to a stop status before it has been running too long. It depends on what type of breach type the SLA Target uses.
  • If a SLA Target passes its breach trigger (achieved/breaches when) and its 'Next Breach' date, the SLA Target will become "Breached"
    • Examples: The issue passes a specified breach date, or it has been too long in a running status. It depends on what type of breach type the SLA Target uses.
  • If a SLA Target uses the breach type "Time in start/running statuses more than X hours", the SLA Target can also be set to "Paused" , which happens when the issue is set to some statuses that are set to pause the SLA Target. This Target status is specific for this breach type. When the SLA Target is in this state it is no longer counting down towards its breach. When the issue is changed to a "start/running" status again, the SLA target changes to "In progress" again, and the SLA Target can then be achieved or breached as usual.



Note: If an issue has an SLA Target that is "Cancelled", "Achieved" or "Breached", and the issue changes to make the SLA Target (or a new one) valid again - this happens:

Instead of the current SLA Target being changed, the current SLA Target will remain cancelled/achieved/breached, and a new instance of the valid SLA Target will be added to the SLA tab on the issue. 

This means that the SLA tab contains a history of SLA Targets on the issue, which can be useful, for example when an issue goes back and forth and you have SLAs where you have to handle the issue in a certain time frame. With this setup you can see if this issue had problems more than once, for example.

User comments
 Loading ...