Sometimes it is required that user data is anonymized in the system, for example to live up to on person's right to be forgotten as stipulated in the GDPR law. You can also find More information about GDPR here...
The difference between the "Delete selected users" function is that user data is not completely removed, but anonymized. The benefit of this is that statistical data will be kept in the system for reports.
Please note that this function will blank out data in the system that can not be recovered. It is therefore important that you set permissions on this function to the correct user roles in the system. Only administrators have permission to use this function per default.
The functionality is available in the actions menu in the General > Users section.
This functionality is only available to use on support users and will anonymize the user and any emails where the user is reporter, recipients, attendees (see more information below).
The anonymize user functionality will do the following:
- Rename the user to "Anonymized".
- Blank out all other personal information such as email, phone numbers, custom fields, and all history on the user object/user card
- Company on user/Reporter company on issue will be kept for statistical reasons
- On issues where the user has been involved in communication:
- Blank out all incoming emails sent from the user. This includes the description of the issue if it was created by an incoming email.
- Blank out all outgoing emails sent to the user.
- Blank out all emails sent from the system where the user's email address is included in the content
- Blank out all email addresses from CC: or BCC: in emails where the user is included
- Inactivate the user
Note that emails will be totally blanked out and not only the personal information!
The user will now show up as Anonymized in all related issues.
Please note that this function is not activated by default, but needs to activated for user groups by your system administrator.